The point about how many developers it has behind is a tricky one: one developer can make a good job, 50 developers can make a mess. Anyone with karma >75 is welcome to improve it. NeoOffice began as a project to investigate methods of creating a native port of OpenOffice.org to Mac OS X. Introduced an icon set with designs that more closely resemble typical Mac OS X icons than those of OpenOffice.org. I've been using NeoOffice for many years. [4] NeoOffice 2017 and later versions are fully based on LibreOffice. With NeoOffice, you can view, edit, and save OpenOffice documents, LibreOffice documents, and simple Microsoft Word, Excel, and PowerPoint documents. I was relieved that the App Store had this. NeoOffice 2015.4 vs. Apache OpenOffice 4.1.2 vs. LibreOffice 5.0.4 It is a commercial fork of the free and open source OpenOffice.org that implements most of the features of OpenOffice.org, including a word processor, spreadsheet, presentation program, and graphics program, and adds some features not present in the macOS versions of LibreOffice and Apache OpenOffice. The Apache OpenOffice User Forum is an user to user help and discussion forum for exchanging information and tips with other users of Apache OpenOffice, the open source office suite. Introduced access to the Mac OS X spellchecker, grammar checker, address book and media browser; users of languages not supported by the Mac OS X spellchecker can use the, Added native Mac OS X text highlighting, smoother text. The easiest answer is: NeoOffice is based on LibreOffice 4.4 + some stability and security patches (+NeoOffice specific stuff). All of these software titles (OpenOffice.org, Apache OpenOffice, LibreOffice, NeoOffice, and more) all stem from the original StarOffice (which was actually a proprietary office suite). [closed], Are there any usability tests regarding LibreOffice? NeoOffice is an office suite for Mac that is based on OpenOffice and LibreOffice. Listed here, in the order of appearance in the S