League 1 (for sponsorship reasons currently known as the Betfred League 1) is a professional rugby league competition based in the United Kingdom. Former Super League and International Referee Steve Ganson is the current Head of Match Officials and Technical Director. Join our mailing list for all the latest news and views from the world of Rugby League. All listed times are AEST (NSW/QLD/VIC/ACT). [12] Crusaders CEO Rod Findlay stated that the club's finances were not in a good enough condition to justify their place in Super League. The 2018 Super League season, known as the Betfred Super League XXIII for sponsor … In 2016 it was announced that a team based in Toronto, Canada had also been granted access to League 1. NSWRL Sydney Shield. From 2003 to 2009, the competition was known as National League One. Goals: Connor Robinson 4, Dewsbury Rams (21) Only Super League players can be dual registered and the receiving club must be a club in the Championships, meaning that Super League to Super League club dual registrations are not available. Women's State of Origin. The biggest win in the history of the Super League, and a club record, was in 2001 when Bradford beat Wigan 37-6. This consists of teams playing their opponents twice. A "super league" competition was first mooted during the Australian Super League war as a way for Rupert Murdoch to gain the upper hand during the battle for broadcasting supremacy with the Australian Rugby League. Over the years the number of teams fluctuated slightly ultimately settling on the now familiar and original 12. Tries: Tony Maurel 2, Tyla Hepi, Joe Bretherton, Con Mika, James Bell, Pat Vaivai To be eligible for a vote, a player must not have been suspended from the competition at any stage during the season. Venue: Sheffield Olympic Legacy StadiumCrowd: 1080 It was renamed in honour of Steve Prescott in 2014. He assumed his role at the RFL following Stuart Cummings' departure in March 2013 having previously held the role of Match Officials Coach & Technical Director. Murdoch also approached the British clubs to form Super League. Additionally, squads are also limited to a maximum of seven non-Federation trained players. Clubs are allowed to spend a maximum of £50,000 on players outside the top 25 earners who have made at least one first grade appearance for the club during the year. This game saw the most spectators ever to attend a match, with number reaching in excess of 73,000. They play each other once home and away interrupted by the Summer Bash. In 2003, the NFP was re-organised into National Leagues One and Two. The reigning champions had a ribbon around the logo with champions on it until 2011. Twelve teams competed over 29 rounds, including the Magic Weekend, which took place at Anfield. The same system was used in the NSWRL's Sydney Competition 1973–1994, the Australian Super League in its only season 1997, the VFL, 1972–1990 and New Zealand's Lion Red Cup, 1994–1996, and Bartercard Cup, 2000–2006. The design was similar to the Rugby Football League (RFL) and England logos. Each year, the year of a champion team's triumph, team name and team Rugby league football captain are engraved. [30], A salary cap was first introduced to the Super League in 1998, with clubs being allowed to spend up to 50 percent of their income on player wages. You might also be interested in Late Gale drop goal clinches Coral Challenge Cup for Leeds The current play-off system was previously used between 2003 and 2006 and is used by the Super League. After the regular rounds, the top five highest teams entered the Super League play-offs, for a place in the Super League … It has continued from pre-Super League times, with the first such award given in 1977. All listed times are AEST (NSW/QLD/VIC/ACT). Round 9. Super League XXIV, known as the Betfred Super League XXIV for sponsorship reasons, was the 2019 iteration of and the 24th season of Super League and 125th season of rugby league in Great Britain.