The Stokes Field Guide to the Birds of North America is smaller than Sibley or Peterson but larger than NatGeo. It includes rare or other speakers outside their normal range.

Also included are maps of where these birds can be found when in the different seasons of the year in North America. I'm not entirely sure which works best as a teacher for one who is trying to learn how to identify birds, but since I'm also a photographer I'm probably partial to photographs.

The newest guide from Don and Lillian Stokes, The Stokes Field Guide to Birds of North America, comes into this yawning anti-void taking the more is more approach, promising to be the most comprehensive photographic guide ever published.

Several of the photos are identical to those from Ted Floyd’s recent Smithsonian Guide, a testimony more to the difficulty of obtaining images of several species rather than anything intentional, but there’s surprisingly little overlap given the massive quantity of photos that made it into the book, a testimony to the explosion of field guide quality images in the wake of the digital photography revolution. Cumbersome. Welcome back. Goodreads helps you keep track of books you want to read. So many other places with well established birding cultures have a single guide that is considered to be the one to have. Stokes gives you more calls per bird which is really nice (I didn't realize Downy woodpeckers "chattered", or Great Horned Owls could almost sound like Barn Owls!

Consequently because of cheaper packaging (cardboard, not a jewell box) and no book the price has gone down but frankly I'd rather pay more and get the book!